Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Research Process
This guide will assist you in researching spiritual traditions.
1. Select 2 Spiritual Traditions
Beth King -- Zoom Appointments
2. What Do I Want to Know?
Take a minute to consider what you want to know about these traditions:
- sacred texts?
- beliefs about afterlife?
3. Finding Expert Sources
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It includes PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
This is an interdisciplinary or general database. It has a little bit on many subjects, which makes it a good starting point for many kinds of research. It includes articles from:
- scholarly journals
4.Evaluate: Is it an Expert Source?
An expert source for this paper is one that is written by:
- someone in a leadership role in the spiritual tradition
- someone who studies religion
- journalist with a religion beat
MLA Citation Guides
Use these color-coded guides to help you develop correct MLA style citations.