Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 (Faulkner) Research Essay: Welcome!

East Campus Library Info

Virtual Help

Ask-A-Librarian to chat, text, or email a librarian

On-Campus 

Location | Building 4, 2nd Floor, 701 N Econlockhatchee Trl, Orlando, FL 32825

Phone Number | 407-582-2456

Fall 2022 Hours (Aug 22 - Dec 11, 2022) |
Monday - Thursday: 8 am - 9 pm 
Friday: 8 am - 5 pm
Saturday: 8 am - 2 pm
Sunday: Closed

How to Find and Search in Databases

1. Log in to Atlas.

2. Click the "Search the Library" link. 

3. Know the name of the database you're looking for? Click the red Databases A-Z button. 

Note: Don't know the name of the database? Click the red Databases by Subject button to browse. 

How to Use Google Scholar

Google Scholar logo that takes users to website when clicked on

How to link Google Scholar to Valencia's resources:

  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. Click the three horizontal lines (the hamburger icon) in the upper left corner.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Click "Library links".
  5. Search for Valencia College.
  6. Make sure the checkbox is selected for "Valencia College - Full Text @ Valencia".
  7. Press Save.

Note: Once you search in Google Scholar after completing the above steps, you can identify the resources that Valencia has access to by looking for the "Full Text @Valencia" link. Click this link to view the resource. You might be prompted to log in to Atlas to view it. 

How to Find eBooks and Books

Sources

Library Research Guides

  • United Nations Sustainable Development Goals
    • This is a great place to learn about each of the individual sustainable development goals. Included for each goal are recommended resources like library databases, books/eBooks, reports, journals, and more. 
  • Sustainability 
    • This resource focuses on ways to take action to achieve sustainable development goals. From thinking about where you buy your food to how to conduct a waste audit at your workplace, identify existing solutions and brainstorm potential ones as well. 

Databases

Global Issues in Context logo

Global Issues in Context provides information about topics related to sustainability such as water pollution, waste disposal, famine, and more. Source types include journal articles, newspaper articles, infographics, and statistics. 

 

Points of View Reference Center logo that takes users to database when clicked on

Points of View Reference Center contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue to help assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.

Logo for Academic Search Complete that takes users to database once clicked on

Academic Search Complete is known for providing scholarly articles on topics from different disciplines. HINT: To search other databases in addition to Academic Search Complete, click the Choose Databases link beside Academic Search Complete (in green text). Select relevant databases, then press OK.

 

Logo for America's News database that takes users to the resource when clicked on

America's News contains newspaper articles and is a great place to find sources about sustainability happenings in Central Florida. HINT: Click "More Search Options" to access the Advanced Search. Type in your search term, and from the "Select a Field" dropdown choose Headline. When you get your results, sort them by Best Match. You can limit by geographic location and/or newspaper title as well to ensure more Central Florida-specific results. 

Meet Your Librarian

MLA Resources

MLA 9 Help

This link contains information on how to cite your sources in your Works Cited section, create in-text citations, format your paper according to MLA requirements, and more!

Using Keywords

Did you know there is a special way to search in the databases? Searching like you would in Google isn't the way to go for databases. Pulling key words from your research question will help you get more precise results. Let's look at an example of a research question with the key words in bold.

What are the effects of daily caffeine consumption?

It's a common part of the research process to do multiple searches with different key words in each search. Brainstorming or using a thesaurus is a great way to come up with more key words. See the chart below for examples of related key words related to the previous research question:

Original Key Word Related Key Words
Effects Impacts, consequences, results
Caffeine  Stimulant, energy drink, coffee
Consume  Ingest, intake
Daily Everyday, regular, frequent

When searching in databases, there is usually an option to search using ANDOR, and NOT

Boolean Searching - ENGL 310 - Subject Guides at Nicholls State University

As the first diagram shows, using AND will pull up results that mention both search terms (in this case puppy AND kitten). Using OR will pull up results that mention either search terms (puppy OR kitten). NOT will bring up results that mention one search term but do not include the other (just puppy NOT kitten). 

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.