Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Gibson): Home

Logging In

This guide works best by accessing it within Atlas or Canvas. 

Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. Go to the Courses tab
  3. Locate the Libraries Channel halfway down the right-hand side of the screen
  4. Click on Search the Library.

Note: If you do not access this guide through Atlas or Canvas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to library resources

  • Your Borrower ID is your V number including the V.
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

MLA Guides online

Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.

The Perfect Source

Recommended Databases

General/Interdisciplinary

Literary

Newspaper

Medical and Psychological

To Find Other Databases

Library Catalog

Search the library catalog to find books and/or ebooks on your subject. Keep in mind that books may not be as up-to-date as articles from newspapers or magazines.

Video Tutorials

West Campus Librarians

Google Scholar

Use the link below to search Google Scholar

After doing a search, look at the right hand side of the results screen.

Articles that say Full Text @ VCC come from the Valencia databases.

Add the word JSTOR to your search in Google Scholar