Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide works best by accessing it within Atlas. Follow these steps:
- Log in to Atlas
- From the Libraries box, click on 'Search the Library'
- Under 'I Need to Find' click on LibGuides
- From LibGuides, do a search for Hodges
Note: If you do not access this guide thorugh Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases
- Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your VID card
- Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID
MLA Guides online
Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct.
Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
Peer reviewed, academic articles can be accessed through the library's databases.
Credible websites are often the best sources for statistics. Here are a few that I like to recommend:
A great source for public opinion data. If you want to report on how people FEEL about a topic, what they THINK or how they vote, this is a good place to search.
Pew Research Center - Topics
Fabulous site at the Pew Research Center allows you to click a topic and view reports, data and statistics about the topic.
This site will link to statistics pages at many different government agencies. Browse by topic to find the agency that publishes the statistics you need.
Identifying Additional Databases to Use
Explore the library's database collection and see other databases that may be useful for your topic.
After logging in via Atlas, click on Search the Library and then go to Databases by Subject.
You will see a list of subject categories that you can expand. Within each category is a list of databases with content in that subject area.
- Use the blue "i" icon to find out more about each database's content.
- Your topic may fit under more than one category. For example if you fear an outbreak of flu, that is a health topic as well as a social sciences and a current events topic.
- Most good research involves using more than one source. Don't be discouraged if the first database you try does not yield enough results.