Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 1020 (Levi-Aland): Medieval Lives and Careers

A guide for students researching medieval lives and careers in Professor Sheila Levi's HUM 1020 Class

Medieval Lives and Careers


Medieval Lives and Careers: A Research Guide for Professor Levi-Aland's HUM 1020 Course

 

Welcome to the Medieval Lives & Careers Research Guide! This guide is designed to assist you in locating electronic resources to help you with your project for Professor Levi-Aland's HUM 1020 course. View some of the sources below to get more information on your chosen subject area. 

How to Access Library Resources

At times you may be prompted to sign in to access library resources. Use your Atlas username and password. 

To access all of our databases, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the Atlas homepage. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

Login to Atlas

Introductory Topics: Start Here

General Information on Medieval Careers & Daily Life

Home and Hearth

Commerce, Trade & Law

Science and Medicine

Art & Architecture

Culture & Society

Reference - People & Major Events

Poll

This guide makes me more confident in my research
Yes: 20 votes (95.24%)
No: 1 votes (4.76%)
Unsure: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 21

Library Databases

Ancient & Medieval History

(New for 2021!Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-sixteenth century. Select Themes in Medieval History on the right side of the homepage for a listing of topics by subject area.

 

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras is also helpful for discovering what life was like during the Medieval and Early Renaissance Eras. Some of the entries are focused on historical events from the time period, and many mention how those historical events affected daily life.

 

Image result for daily life through history

Daily Life Through History is a useful resource that explores ordinary life through time and across the globe. It can be used for researching historical topics such as food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.

 

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Adam Johnson
Contact:
Valencia College Winter Park Campus Library
(407) 582-6814

Ask a Librarian

Need help with research or library resources? Get help from state-wide librarians at Ask-a-Librarian.

Ask a Librarian provides online help through live chat and text messaging from 10 a.m. to midnight Sunday through Thursday (ET), and from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday and Saturday (ET).  

Get help directly from Valencia College librarians on Ask-A-Librarian.

During the Fall 2021 term, students can chat live online or text a Valencia College librarian during these hours:

  • Monday - Thursday 10am-9pm
  • Friday 10am-5pm
  • Saturday 8am-4pm

During off hours, students can send an e-mail that librarians will retrieve when the virtual desk reopens.