Skip to main content

HUM 2220 (Menninger): Home

Start Here

This guide works best by accessing it within Atlas.  Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. Go to the Courses tab
  3. Locate the Libraries Channel halfway down the right-hand side of the screen
  4. Click on Search the Library.

Note: If you do not access this guide thorugh Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your VID card
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

MLA Citation

Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.

Smartthinking

Smartthinking Logo

Access Smartthing within Atlas.  Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. Go to the Courses tab
  3. From the My Courses box, click on 'Tutoring (online)'

Finding a Work of Art

While it may seem easier to simply go into Google and search for art images, this approach is not recommended. Google Images often contains images that are mislabeled.

The easiest route is generally to look at print books on the Greek and Roman eras. In addition to having accurately labeled photos, books will give you a better idea of which works are considered more important and are, thus, more researched and easier to find information about.

If you must look at web sites, try web sites for museums with large Greek and Roman collections, such as:

Books and eBooks

Search the library catalog for print books and electronic books on Greek or Roman art and architecture. These books are good for selecting a topic and for finding more information on a selected art work.

In most cases, you will not find a whole book on a particular building or work of art (with certain exceptions such as the Parthenon). Look for the books on the general period. Once you've found them, look at the back of each book and find your art work in the index.

When searching the catalog, be sure to limit to West Campus and books or eBooks before you search.

If you need help, feel free to ask a librarian!

Databases for Researching Art

In the databases you can search for a particular building or work of art. The first three databases (from the publisher EBSCO) are easier to search, but do not have as many articles as JSTOR.

JSTOR, unlike Google, does not do a good job of putting your results in order of relevance, so it requires some patience to use. If you need help, please ask a librarian!

 

West Campus Librarians

Visit the West Campus Librarians on the 2nd floor of building 6.

Call us at 407-582-1432.