Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MCB 2010C (Laurent): Using Online Resources

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in MCB2010C with Professor Laurent at the Poinciana Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by visiting the Valencia College Library website, clicking the icon below and logging in using your VID number (Borrower ID). Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the dropdown menu. Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Health-Related Databases

CINAHL Complete provides full-text access to more than 560 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. This database can help find articles or studies related to the treatment of mental health issues.

 

Health and Wellness is an easy-to-use interface with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias, and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets.

 

Health Source: Consumer Edition provides full-text access to a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. This database contains the full text of nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition, and professional health care publications.

 

Medline with Full-Text has full-text journal articles for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Includes information from a broad spectrum of medical fields, such as nursing, psychology, psychiatry, and psychotherapy.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources and includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, and, other subjects.
 

ScienceDirect contains a wide selection of Life Sciences journal articles and book chapters featuring original research, insightful analysis, current theory and more.

Useful Websites

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search