Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Native Americans: Native Americans

Overview

Indian man

This LibGuide will assist Valencia students in learning more about Native Americans. For further research assistance, you can chat live with a librarian at www.askalibrarian.org/valencia.

Below you will find:

  • suggested keywords
  • suggested databases and suggested search terms for those databases
  • specific individuals and groups of Native American descent
  • suggested eBooks at Valencia
  • suggested articles

The library resources included in this LibGuide require login access. To ensure you have access:

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in. Click here for Atlas.
  2. Click on the Search the Library link, under the "Courses" tab.

Note: If you do not access this guide through Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number on your VID card, including the 'V'
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID
  • Log into Atlas

Image courtesy of the Minnesota Historical Society.

Suggested Keywords

These words can be used to search the library catalog, databases, and other resources:

  • Indians
  • Native American
  • Indigenous People

As works have become more specific and awareness of individual Native American peoples has increased, the names of the specific groups should be used. For example:

  • Ais
  • Apalachee
  • Calusa
  • Cherokee
  • Creek
  • Miccosukee
  • Seminole
  • Timucua
  • Yemassee

Suggested eBooks at Valencia

Search the Library Catalog to find books and ebooks at Valencia College Library.

You can use some the suggested keywords above.

Below are just a few suggestions.

Suggested Databases

Library databases allow you to explore news articles, documentaries, magazine articles, and academic journal articles.

Library databases can be accessed by logging into your Atlas account then clicking on the Search the Library link. Once you're on the Library Search page, click the Databases A-Z link at the top. If prompted, your Borrower ID is your VID with the V and your PIN is the last 4 digits of your VID.

American Indian, Indian, Native American, or Native?

All of these terms are acceptable. The consensus, however, is that whenever possible, Native people prefer to be called by their specific tribal name. In the United States, Native American has been widely used but is falling out of favor with some groups, and the terms American Indian or indigenous American are preferred by many Native people.

November is Native American Heritage Month

On August 3, 1990, President of the United States George H. W. Bush declared the month of November as National American Indian Heritage Month, thereafter commonly referred to as Native American Heritage Month.

Before then, October 10-16, 1976 was the first week of recognition of native peoples in the 200 year history of the nation. The legislation for American Indian Awareness Week was authored and promoted by J.C. Elliott-High Eagle, an Osage/Cherokee Indian from Oklahoma who met with the president on the day of the signing. It was signed by then President Gerald R. Ford.

And even before then, there were appeals for an American Indian Day in as early as 1915.

The Law Library of Congress has compiled guides to commemorative observations, including a comprehensive inventory of the Public Laws, Presidential Proclamations and congressional resolutions related to Native American Heritage Month.

Native American child

Image courtesy of Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis.

Valencia Campuses on Native American Land

According to Native Land Digital, Valencia campuses sit on land stolen from the Seminole and Timucua tribes.

Native Land Digital strives to create and foster conversations about the history of colonialism, Indigenous ways of knowing, and settler-Indigenous relations, through educational resources such as their map and Territory Acknowledgement Guide. Land is something sacred to all of us, whether we consciously appreciate it or not — it is the space upon which we play, live, eat, find love, and experience life. Native Land Digital is mapping more than just a flat picture. The land itself is sacred, and it is not easy to draw lines that divide it up into chunks that delineate who “owns” different parts of land. In reality, land is not something to be exploited and “owned”, but something to be honored and treasured. Native land should be acknowledged.

According the U.S. Department of Arts and Culture's #HonorNativeLand, "Acknowledgment is a simple, powerful way of showing respect and a step toward correcting the stories and practices that erase Indigenous people’s history and culture and toward inviting and honoring the truth. Imagine this practice widely adopted: imagine cultural venues, classrooms, conference settings, places of worship, sports stadiums, and town halls, acknowledging traditional lands. Millions would be exposed—many for the first time—to the names of the traditional Indigenous inhabitants of the lands they are on, inspiring them to ongoing awareness and action."

Online Resources