Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide works best by accessing it within Atlas. Follow these steps:
- Log in to Atlas
- From the Libraries box, click on 'Search the Library'
- Under 'I Need to Find' click on LibGuides
- From LibGuides, click on English
- Look for ENC 1102 (N Brown)
Note: If you do not access this guide thorugh Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases
- Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your VID card
- Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
- Check out the Literary Glossary for definitions of literary conventions and inventions
- The Reference Shelf's Encyclopedia of Literature also provides explanations of literary conventions and inventions
Bloom's Literature (Infobase Publishing)
Bloom’s Literature is rich with relevant content on the core authors and works most studied in the high school and undergraduate classrooms. Students will find exactly what they need without having to wade through an uncurated search. Educators will appreciate the thoughtful organization and important curriculum tools to help with lesson plans, assignments, and independent study.
Funded by: College (FALSC Group License)
Here are a couple more criticism examples
Identifying Additional Databases to Use
Explore the library's database collection and see other databases that may be useful for your topic.
After logging in via Atlas, click on Search the Library and then go to Databases by Subject.
You will see a list of subject categories that you can expand. Within each category is a list of databases with content in that subject area.
- Use the blue "i" icon to find out more about each database's content.
- Most good research involves using more than one source. Don't be discouraged if the first database you try does not yield enough results.
Gale Virtual Reference Library can give you a basic definition of a particular literary theory, such as Realism, more information on particular literary themes, and overviews of particular works.
Finding Books and Ebooks
To find books and ebooks use the library catalog. Limit to books or ebooks. For print books also limit to West.
MLA Guides online
Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct.
Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.