Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Quick Start Library Guide: For Faculty

Use this handy guide to learn about and gain access to all the library resources from home or on-the-go!

How to Add Library Content to Your Canvas Course

Faculty members can easily add library resources to Canvas courses. 

For more resources and help integrating library resources with Canvas, visit the Library Resources for Your Canvas Course LibGuide:

Library Videos & Tutorials

Searching for a video or tutorial that you can embed into your Canvas courses? Look no further - the library has a collection of helpful resources to guide your students to becoming research experts. 

Resources for English Courses

New Library Catalog

A new library catalog and search interface is here! On July 13, 2021, the Primo VE discovery service replaced our previous library catalog interface called Mango.

How will these changes impact you or your classes?
Some library links generated using the Mango permalink tool, the Embed A Library resource tool in Canvas, or the Curriculum Builder tool in Canvas will need to be changed. Some links derived from library database resources will also need to be updated. The old links will now result in an error when clicking them. Librarians can assist you with correcting any broken links if you have problems or issues finding the original sources. Most of the links that will need to be changed will be in LibGuides or Canvas courses. Tutorials, screencasts, and other handouts or guides will need to be updated to reflect the new search interface.

Click here to access the new catalog

Interlibrary Loan/UBorrow

During the closure, interlibrary loan and requests from other state institutions through UBorrow will be unavailable. All existing interlibrary loan requests for physical items are on hold. If you have a request for an electronic resource, such as an online journal article held by another institution, contact your campus library to see if the materials are obtainable.

How to Embed a Librarian in Your Canvas Course

Contact your liaison librarian and discuss the scope of work.  You can invite the librarian in Canvas just like adding a TA or developer.  For example the librarian role cannot go to the grade book to make comments on assignments but can moderate a discussion board.

Limited Time Offers

Update: An extensive, crowdsourced list of vendor donations and temporary free access offers is available at https://tinyurl.com/vendorsupportedaccess.

The following companies and publishers are providing temporary free access to resources and services during the COVID-19 outbreak. We will continue to add to this list as we become aware of available offers.

  • American Psychological Association COVID-19 Resources - Expiration date has not been stated.
  • Annual Reviews COVID-19 Resources (eJournal) - Expiration date has not been stated .
  • Boston Symphony Orchestra - Free streams of past performances from the archives. Expiration date has not been stated
  • Digital Public Library of America - Provides one-stop access to millions of items and materials from libraries, museums, and and archives across the country. No expiration date.
  • IDFA - Hundreds of free documentaries screened at the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam.
  • JSTOR - Expanded access to unlicensed content for institutions that have a JSTOR subscription. Expires Dec.31, 2020.
  • Kahoot -  Popular quiz and polling tool; free access to Kahoot Premium through the end of the academic year.
  • Ohio State University Press Books - 699 Ohio State University Press books available for the duration of the pandemic.
  • Open Culture - A large selection of free cultural and educational resources, including 200 textbooks. No expiration date.
  • Open Research Library - Worldwide collection of open access resources with an emphasis on scholarly works.
  • Oxford University Press - Free resources for students and faculty. Expiration date has not been stated.
  • Pearson Digital Materials - "If you need immediate assistance moving your whole class from a printed textbook to digital materials like MyLab™, Mastering™, Revel™, or ebooks, please contact your Pearson rep. We have a program to help you transition for the remainder of the term at no charge to you or your students."
  • Project Gutenberg - Always-free collection of eBooks in the public domain.
  • Royal Society Publishing - Access to all 10 of the society's journals.  Expiration date has not been stated.
  • Slave Societies Digital Archive - Hosted by Vanderbilt University, contains over 700,000 images and more than 2,000 unique volumes documenting slave societies. No expiration date.

Research Workshops: Live & On Demand

undefined

Greetings Faculty,  

As you continue with your Fall 2020 instruction, the Valencia College Libraries would like to suggest our Research Workshops self-enroll Canvas course as a resource to help students with their research assignments. 

Research Workshops offers both live Zoom sessions and self-paced modules. Each session and module focus on a different component of the research process and provides practical information and tips that students can incorporate into their papers or projects.   

Research Workshops works as a companion to research assignments. Faculty may assign students the entire course to complete or select specific modules or live sessions. Upon completion of a module or attendance at a live session, students will take an assessment to earn a badge. The badges are  stored within the course and can be used to verify that module or live session requirements have been met.       

Here’s how it works:    

  1. Instructors are encouraged to enroll before assigning the course to students. This will provide an opportunity to view the modules and live sessions to see which topics will help students the most with your assignment.   

  1. The self-enroll link is the same for both instructors and students. https://valencia.libwizard.com/f/libcoursepresurvey   

  1. Instructors share the Research Workshops self-enroll course link with students. You may also upload the Research Workshops assignment template to your course by clicking here.  

  1. Students enroll in the course and complete the assigned modules or attend a specific live session. They will earn the appropriate badges.   

  1. Students submit the badges as proof to their instructor that they have completed the assignment.   

A sample of our course offerings is below.    

  • APA Supertrack
  • Career Research
  • Getting Started with Research
  • How Librarians Can Help You
  • Introduction to Databases
  • Introduction to Fact Checking
  • MLA Guide to Citing Sources
  • Plagiarism 101
  • Types of Sources
  • Intro to Chicago Style