Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HFT 2223 (Rapp): Home

Downtown Campus Library

Effective Monday, August 24, 2020, due to COVID-19, the DTC Library hours for the fall semester will be:

Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm

The library is located on the 2nd floor of DPAC.

Students and other library patrons, are required to wear masks.  The library has been arranged such that students are socially distancing.  Please do not move the furniture as it has been arranged for the purpose of social distancing.

Logging In

This guide works best by accessing it within Atlas or Canvas. 

Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. Go to the Courses tab
  3. Locate the Libraries Channel halfway down the right-hand side of the screen
  4. Click on Search the Library.

Note: If you do not access this guide through Atlas or Canvas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to library resources

  • Your Borrower ID is your V number including the V.
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

Major Newspaper

The New York Times is an American newspaper based in New York City with worldwide influence and readership.

Business Magazines

These are some well-known national business magazines.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Open Educational Resources (OER) are educational materials that are in the public domain or that have been introduced with an open license. An open license means that anyone can use, copy and re-share the materials. OER can be in the form of full courses, course materials, textbooks, curricula, syllabi, lecture notes, tests, assignments, videos or audio (UNESCO)

Valencia College libraries also have subscriptions to a multitude of resources than can be embedded in Canvas to also supplement your course materials. Even though these resources are not OER, they can be used together with OER to reduce the cost for students.

  • MERLOT Opened in 1997 is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community. In the search bar, type your search term, i.e., hospitality.
  • Internet Archive This library contains downloadable free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities across the globe. To access the resources, set up a free account.  Once it's set up,you may login and borrow the item.  There may be a time limit on the borrowed item.  You may narrow your search by "Topic & Subject," which is located on the left side of the screen.
  • OER Commons Curating best in class learning materials from around the world since 2007.  The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Connexions.  It is a great first step in an OER search, but often more results can be found by searching the specific collection. 

Databases

Databases are collections of articles from a wide variety of sources that may include newspapers, magazine, trade journals, and peer-reviewed journals. When you have a topic but no particular publication in mind it is often easier to search a database.

Hospitality Trade Journals

Trade journals are magazine-like publications designed for a particular industry. They can be searched individually if you prefer or you will find many in InfoTrac Tourism, Hospitality and Leisure eCollection.