Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPC 1608 (Tan) - Informative & Persuasive Speeches: Informative Speech

This guide provides information on researching the informative and persuasive speeches for Prof. Tan's SPC 1608.

Start Here

The databases listed on this page require a login. For access:

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in.
  2. Click on the Search the Library link, under the "Courses" tab.
  3. On the page that follows, search the library catalog or  click Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.
  4. Click on the name of the database, e.g. Academic Search Complete.

Note: If you do not access this guide through Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number is your VID card, including the 'V'
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

 

Global Road Warrior - Library Database

What is Global Road Warrior? A reference tool for getting basic background information on a country.

What can I use this for? Basic information about your country: geographical features, etc. Find facts about the culture that seem to support your country's rankings on Hofstede's dimensions.

How do I search Global Road Warrior? Select a country. On the profile page that opens, browse the contents in the left pane. Sections such as Business Culture and Society and Culture will be particularly helpful, but other sections may be relevant, too.

Don't forget to e-mail this page to yourself!

Access World News - Library Database

What is Access World News Research Collection? Access World News Research Collection includes information on multiple subjects from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only modules.

What can I use this for? All speeches must include at least one news article less than 12 months old. You will be able to find it here.

Find articles relating to your country's leader. Look for articles about recent, important events and your leader's role in them. Look for articles that are broad and descriptive about your leader.

 

 

Don't forget to e-mail articles that you find, to yourself! 

Citation

The following video will help you develop appropriate verbal citations for your speech:

West Campus Liibrarians