Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Black History Theme (2020)
The Valencia African Heritage Committee has adopted African Americans and the Vote as the 2020 Black History theme. "The year 2020 marks the centennial of the Nineteenth Amendment and the culmination of the women’s suffrage movement. The year 2020 also marks the sesquicentennial of the Fifteenth Amendment (1870) and the right of black men to the ballot after the Civil War. The theme speaks, therefore, to the ongoing struggle on the part of both black men and black women for the right to vote." Learn more about the theme here.
2020 Election Resources
If you do not live in one of the counties listed below, you can seek the information related to your ballot and voting by visiting Vote411.org.
Check out our voting check list to ensure your voting plan is up to date.
Learn More about Local Candidates & Amendments
Learn More About Your Voting Rights
Videos can be accessed by logging into your Atlas account then clicking on the Search the Library link. Or when prompted, your Borrower ID is your VID with the V and your Pin number is the last 4 digits of your VID.
Additional Suggested Readings
- Carson, Clayborne. In Struggle: Sncc and the Black Awakening of the 1960s. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1981.
- Crawford, Vicki L., Jacqueline Anne Rouse, and Barbara Woods, eds. Women in the Civil Rights Movement: Trailblazers and Torchberarers 1941-1965. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1990.
- Dittmer, John. Local People: The Struggle for Civil Rights in Mississippi. Chicago: University of Illinois Press, 1994.
- Gilmore, Glenda. Gender and Jim Crow: Women and the Politics of White Supremacy in North Carolina, 1896-1920. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 1996.
- Holt, Len. The Summer That Didn't End: The Story of the Mississippi Civil Rights Project of 1964. New York: Da Capo Press, 1992.
- Lawson, William H. No Small Thing: The 1963 Mississippi Freedom Vote. U Miss Press, 2018.
- Neverdon-Morton, Cynthia. African American Women and the Vote 1837-1965. Amherst: Univ. of Massachusetts Press, 1997.
- Terborg-Penn, Rosalyn. African American Women in the Struggle for the Vote 1850-1920. Bloomington: Indiana Univ. Press, 1999.
- Turri, Rebecca. Strategic Sisterhood: The National Council of Negro Women in the Black Freedom Struggle. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 2018.
- Visser-Maessen, Laura. Robert Parris Moses: A Life in Civil Rights and Leadership in the Grassroots. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 2016.
Library databases allow you to explore news articles, documentaries, magazine articles, and academic journal articles.
Library databases can be accessed by logging into your Atlas account then clicking on the Search the Library link. Or when prompted, your Borrower ID is your VID with the V and your Pin number is the last 4 digits of your VID.
African American Experience (Greenwood Electronic Media)
"online collection on African American life" Suggested search terms: vote, Voting Rights Act (1965), Black Suffrage, literacy tests
American History (ABC-CLIO)
"reference and curriculum solution helps students understand the issues, perspectives, and history that have shaped our nation." Suggested search term: vote, Voting Rights Act (1965), Black Suffrage, literacy tests
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)
"[contains] streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses."
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
"comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals."
Humanities Source (EBSCO)
"Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities."
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest)
"Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times®, covering the period from 1851-2007." Consider historical terms when searching.
"Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available."
History Reference Center (EBSCO)
"offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines."
Suggested Valencia Library e-Books
E-Books can be accessed by logging into your Atlas account then clicking on the Search the Library link. Or when prompted, your Borrower ID is your VID with the V and your Pin number is the last 4 digits of your VID.