At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.
To access all of our databases, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the right column on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.
Need help with research or library resources? Get remote help from state-wide librarians at Ask-a-Librarian.
Ask a Librarian provides online help through live chat and text messaging from 10 a.m. to midnight Sunday through Thursday (ET), and from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday and Saturday (ET).
Get help directly from Valencia College librarians on Ask-A-Librarian.
Students can chat live online or text a Valencia College librarian during these hours for Fall 2022:
During campus closures or off hours, students can send an e-mail that librarians will retrieve when the virtual desk reopens.
(New for 2021!) Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-sixteenth century. Select Themes in Medieval History on the right side of the homepage for a listing of topics by subject area.
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras is also helpful for discovering what life was like during the Medieval and Early Renaissance Eras. Some of the entries are focused on historical events from the time period, and many mention how those historical events affected daily life.
Daily Life Through History is a useful resource that explores ordinary life through time and across the globe. It can be used for researching historical topics such as food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.