Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide works best by accessing it within Atlas. Follow these steps:
- Log in to Atlas
- Go to the Courses tab
- Locate the Libraries Channel halfway down the right-hand side of the screen
- Click on Search the Library.
Note: If you do not access this guide thorugh Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases
- Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your VID card
- Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID
For more in-depth research, use books and ebooks OR scholarly articles from the databases listed below.
Books and eBooks
Search the library catalog for print books and electronic books on your topic.
When searching the catalog, be sure to limit to West Campus and books or eBooks before you search.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Limit your search to full text and peer reviewed to locate academic articles on your topic.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Funded by: College (FALSC Group License)
Citation Guides online
Remember that although many of the library databases provide citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct.
Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's citation guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook or APA Publication Manual (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.
About Reference Sources
Reference sources are a good place to start when you want to find an overview of
- a movement, such as Modernism
- historical events such as World War II
- a particular artist or writer's work, such as Pablo Picasso or Jean Paul Sartre
General Reference Sources
Biography in Context (Gale) An engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Browse to find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Art and Architecture Reference
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale)
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Funded by: College