Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Reference Sources
Reference sources are a good place to start when you want to find an overview of
- a movement, such as Social Realism
- a cultural element in a place and time, such as architecture in 20th century Mexico
- an artist or writer's work, such as Diego Rivera or Gabriel Garcia Marquez
In-depth sources include books and ebooks, as well as scholarly journal articles.
Scholarly journal articles are original research by experts in the field. These articles go through both an editorial (review by an editor) and peer-review process (review by other experts). If you are looking for research on a particular painting you are most likely to find it in a scholarly journal. Scholarly journals are also known as academic journals, refereed journals, and peer-reviewed journals.
The following databases are all published by the same company and may be searched together. The EBSCO databases are easy to search, but do not have as much content as JSTOR.
Search tip: check off the box labeled full text and the box labeled peer-reviewed journals.
Underneath the names of the databases, there is a list of all the articles relevant to this assignment that appear in the EBSCO databases.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Funded by: College (FALSC Group License)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It includes PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Print Books on Reserve at the West Campus Library (ask at 1st floor Checkout Desk)
Mexican Muralism by
Publication Date: 2012-09-08
In this comprehensive collection of essays, three generations of international scholars examine Mexican muralism in its broad artistic and historical contexts, from its iconic figures--Diego Rivera, Jos#65533; Clemente Orozco, and David Alfaro Siquieros--to their successors in Mexico, the United States, and across Latin America. These muralists conceived of their art as a political weapon in popular struggles over revolution and resistance, state modernization and civic participation, artistic freedom and cultural imperialism. The contributors to this volume show how these artists' murals transcended borders to engage major issues raised by the many different forms of modernity that emerged throughout the Americas during the twentieth century.
Mexican Muralists by
Publication Date: 1998-03-01
Los tres grandes: Jose Clemente Orozco, Diego Rivera, and David Alfaro Siqueiros. Now legendary, these men have emerged as the most prominent figures of the famed Mexican mural movement, which lasted from the '20s through the early '70s and was hailed as the most significant achievement in public art of the 20th century. The dramatic story of the movement is told here in a fascinating history of the artists, accompanied by over 100 spectacular color reproductions of the murals. Showcasing popular as well aslesser-known works from around the US and Mexico, this is the first high-quality paperback to do justice to a subject that will captivate every lover of Mexican art and culture, Rivera fan, and art historian, as well as anyone who appreciates a beautiful, intelligent art book.
Mural Painting and Social Revolution in Mexico, 1920-1940 by
Publication Date: 1998-06-28
Mural Painting and Social Revolution in Mexico, 1920-1940 is the first full-length account of this major movement in the history of Modernism. Following the Revolution of 1910, Mexican society underwent a profound transformation in every sector of political and cultural life. Mexican artists participated in this social revolution during a vital two-decade period through public art programmes funded by the government and other institutions. Applying a social-historical methodology, Leonard Folgarait examines this phenomenon and focuses on the mural paintings of Diego Rivera, Jos Orozco, and David Siqueiros produced during this period. He provides an indepth analysis of the form and meaning of these mural cycles, while documenting the system of patronage, the critical connections between state policy and aesthetics, and the visual strategies devised by patrons and artists in order to maximise the impact of these propagandistic images.
Twentieth-Century Art of Latin America by
Publication Date: 2015-10-30
The product of Jacqueline Barnitz's more than forty years of studying and teaching, Twentieth-Century Art of Latin America surveys the major currents in and artists of Mexico, the Caribbean, and South America (including Brazil). This new edition has been refreshed throughout to include new scholarship on several modern movements, such as abstraction in the River Plate region and the Cuban avant-garde. A new chapter covers art since 1990. In all, 30 percent of the images in this edition are new, and thirty-four additional artists are discussed and illustrated.